- Both applicants must be 18 years of age or older. If applicants are under 18 or are not legal residents of the U.S., they should contact the Register of Deeds for more information: 828-389-0087
- Applicants MUST have valid government issued picture identification such as driver's license or ID card. Applicants MUST also have an original social security card.
If either applicant has previously been married, applicant must provide date of divorce or death of spouse.
The Register of Deeds only issues marriage licenses between 8:00 a.m. And 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. They are valid for 60 days from issuance, and must be returned within 10 days from the date of the ceremony. Failure to return is a criminal misdemeanor offense and may require a $200 fine (G.S 51-7)
The ceremony must take place within North Carolina, and be returned to county of issuance. A person performing a marriage ceremony without a license is subject to both criminal penalties and civil liabilities (G.S 51-7). The officiant is required to be an ordained minister or a North Carolina magistrate.
Two Witnesses must be present at the Ceremony.
The marriage license fee is $60.
Accepted payment methods include cash, debit card or credit card.
Fees for Marriage Licenses
Marriage License - $60
Marriage License certified copy - $10